Citizen of the Year

Each year, the city seeks nominations for the Citizen of the Year award, recognizing an individual who has made outstanding contributions to Creve Coeur. The Citizen of the Year must be a resident of Creve Coeur, owner or employee of a business in Creve Coeur, or an individual who has made a considerable contribution to the city and its residents.

Nominations should include the nominator’s contact information; background information on the nominee including an explanation of why the individual deserves to be recognized as the Citizen of the Year; and the nominee’s contact information.

Nominations open each year in the fall, and the deadline to submit a nomination is early November. For more information, contact Kellie Henke, City Clerk, at or (314) 872-2517.

Citizen of the Year Logo

Citizens of the Year 2022

The Creve Coeur City Council recognized Richard "Dick" Kutta as Citizen of the Year 2022 for his dedication and service to the community. This award recognizes an individual in the community who has made outstanding contributions to Creve Coeur. 

Mayor Robert Hoffman presented the award to Kutta at the annual Holiday Appreciation Event on Tuesday, December 6, honoring all city volunteers and members of the city's boards, committees and commissions. 

"Dick has dedicated over a decade of service to the city," said Mayor Hoffman. "His long-time engineering career and expertise has allowed him to provide valuable insight while serving on several task forces and committees."

Kutta was first appointed to the Finance Committee in 2012 and recently served as chair from 2019 to 2021. In 2014, he was appointed to the Government Center Needs Assessment Task Force, established to identify needed facility improvements. 

In 2016, Kutta served on the Facilities Task Force to advise on the planning and design of the new police station. In 2021, he was appointed to the Facilities Task Force to provide input on renovations to the Government Center and ice arena.

He is currently the Chair of the Stormwater Committee, and serves on a subcommittee that is working with city staff on the development of a citywide Watershed Management Plan. 

Citizen of the Year 2022 - Richard Kutta

Citizen of the Year 2022 Richard Kutta (right) with Mayor Robert Hoffman (left).